Skip to main content

Veterinary Science: South African National Veterinary Repository: Digital Collections

Digital Collections

 

Arnold Theiler Collection

Collection of photos and memorabilia of Sir Arnold Theiler (1867 - 1936), widely known as the father of veterinary science in South Africa. He was an outstanding researcher, administrator and teacher and made an enduring contribution to various disciplines both in South Africa and internationally. The collection was donated to the Jotello F. Soga Library by Prof A. Verster.
Search Collection
Browse Titles

 

Cattle Breeds Collection

A collection of photos about cattle breeds photographed by H.C. Els, former staff member of the Department Production Animal Studies, Faculty of Veterinary Science at the University of Pretoria.

 

Search Collection
Browse Titles

 

Heartwater Collection

Heartwater  is an acute disease of cattle, goats, sheep and some wild ruminants caused by the Rickettsia, Ehrlichia ruminantium (formely Cowdria ruminantium). Heartwater is one of the major diseases of livestock in sub-Saharan Africa. This collection consists of images from research done about heartwater at the ARC-OVI and the University of Pretoria, Faculty of Veterinary Science, Dept. of Veterinary Tropical Diseases.
Search Collection

 

Pastures Collection

Collection of slides and documents by Prof DC Lourens on pasture science and herd health. Professor Lourens was a former lecturer at the Department of Production Animal Studies, Faculty of Veterinary Science at the University of Pretoria, South Africa.
Search Collection
Browse Titles

 

Poisonous Plants Collection

A selection of slides created by lecturers in the Section of Pharmacology & Toxicology, Dept of Paraclinical Sciences, University of Pretoria. The focus of the collection is the botanical description and distribution of the plants in Southern Africa and also the clinical signs, necropsy, syndromes and treatment of affected animals. The slides were also published on a CD-ROM : Botha, CJ & Venter, E 2002, 'Plants poisonous to livestock in Southern Africa (CD-ROM)' University of Pretoria, Faculty of Veterinary Science, Dept. of Paraclinical Sciences, Section of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Pretoria, South Africa.
Search Collection
Browse Titles

 

Research Articles Collection

These collections contains published full text research articles authored and co-authored by members of staff, students and affiliates of the University of Pretoria, Faculty of Veterinary Science. Copyright clearance was obtained by the Open Scholarship Office.

 

Browse Titles

Anatomy and Physiology

Biomedical Research Centre

Centre for Veterinary Wildlife Studies

Companion Animal Clinical Studies

Equine Research Centre

Paraclinical Sciences

Production Animal Studies

Veterinary Tropical Diseases

 

Trypanosomosis Collection

In Africa, protozoon parasites of the genus Trypanosoma are responsible for causing what is probably still the most important disease of domestic livestock in Africa south of the Sahara Desert i.e. African animal trypanosomosis or Nagana. The natural hosts of these trypanosomes are many species of wild game which are adapted to the parasites and do not show any symptoms. The trypanosomes occur in the blood stream of infected animals and are carried from animal to animal by bloodsucking biting flies of the genus Glossina. The collection consists of images from research done at the ARC-OVI and the University of Pretoria, Faculty of Veterinary Science, Dept. of Veterinary Tropical Diseases.

Search Collection

 

Veterinary History

This collection contains digitised, historical and other material of interest to the veterinary science community. The information is contributed by Onderstepoort Veterinary Institute and  The History Committee of the SA Veterinary Association

Search Veterinary Biographies
South African Veterinary History

Arnold Theiler Memorial Lectures

A collection of presentations from invited speakers on Faculty day, a special, dedicated annual occasion which focuses on the research activities of the Faculty of Veterinary Science, University of Pretoria.

Search Collection
Browse Titles

 

Elephant Biomedical Illustrations

Part of the Christine Seegers Biomedical Illustrations collection. Christine Seegers is one of the few biomedical artists in South Africa. She made a large collection of biomedical illustrations of wild and domestic animals while she was employed in the Department of Anatomy , Faculty of Veterinary Science at the University of Pretoria.
Search Collection
Browse Titles

 

Onderstepoort Journal of Veterinary Research

Full text collection of journal articles from The Onderstepoort Journal of Veterinary Research first published by the Transvaal Department of Agriculture. The journal contains papers reporting on original research covering all aspects of veterinary science from 1903 onwards.  The Equine Research Centre, Faculty of Veterinary Science, University of Pretoria gave financial support to the digitisation project.
Search Collection
Browse Available Issues
Browse Journal Articles

 

Pathology Collection

Slide collection of the Section of Pathology, Dept. of Paraclinical Sciences, University of Pretoria focusing on the diagnosis of diseases through the examination of animal tissue and body fluids.

Search Collection
Browse Titles

 

Jotello F. Soga Collection

Jotello F. Soga was the first South African to qualify as a veterinary surgeon (Royal Dick School of Veterinary Studies, Edinburgh 1886). “Dr Soga played an important role in combating rinderpest and lung-sickness in the country as the first qualified South African veterinarian. He also laid a foundation for veterinary education in South Africa. But he is better known in veterinary circles as a pioneer researcher in the study of toxic plants and their effect on animals – both for their poisonous and curative effects.” (Prof Gerry Swan, Dean, Faculty of Veterinary Science, University of Pretoria)

 

Search Collection
Browse Titles

 

Small Animal Critical Care

Slide collection of Dr Mirinda van Schoor, senior  lecturer / veterinary specialist physician at the University of Pretoria, Faculty of Veterinary Science, Dept. of Companion Animal Clinical Studies.  She has a special interest in critical care medicine and is involved in pre- and postgraduate student training and research.

 Search Collection
 Browse Titles

 

Veterinary Books

Collection of full text veterinary books housed at the Jotello F.Soga Library, Faculty of Veterinary Science.

 

 

 

Search Collection
Browse Titles

 

Veterinary Tropical Diseases Collection

The collection consists of images from research done at the Dept. of Veterinary Tropical Diseases, University of Pretoria. The slides covered a variety of infectious diseases of animals.

 

Search Collection
Browse Titles