Skip to main content

Veterinary Science: General

Post Graduate Student Support: General information

Welcome

Dear  Post Graduate student

This guide aims to  provide tools to ease and simplify  the processes of being a Post Graduate student, doing research and publishing your research.

To be able to fully benefit from all the electronic sources and resources, you need to be a registered client. To access our electronic resources you will be prompted for your student/staff number and a password.

For more information about library membership :  http://www.library.up.ac.za/circulation/membership.htm

Information Specialists

Please contact your Information Specialist to gain information about the following:

  • Access to a vast number of scientific databases, e-journals, e-books and other printed, electronic or digitised information resources
  • Access to all recommended textbooks if commercially available, in collaboration with lecturers
  • Group and individual training sessions in information literacy skills
  • Information literature searches or information on your research topic
  • Advice on the availability and accessibility of information resources
  • Advice on the application of reference techniques, plagiarism and copyright
  • Advice on the research process, evaluating journals and where to publish
  • Advice on information organization and indexing

Susan Marsh: Companion Animal Clinical Studies, Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology, Production Animal Studies, Equine Research Centre, OP Veterinary Genetics Laboratory, Exotic Leather Research Centre.

Tertia Coetsee: Paraclinical Sciences, Veterinary Tropical Diseases, Centre for Veterinary Wildlife Studies, Onderstepoort Veterinary Animal Research Unit.

 

 

General Backgroung Reading

Available E-Books on Biochemistry, Chemistry, Epidemiology, Microbiology, Molecular biology, Physics and Statistics are listed

Biochemistry

Biochemistry and cell culture

 

by P. Michael. Conn

eBook

Publication: Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier/Academic Press, 2012.

ISBN: 9780124055490 0124055494

ISSN: 0091-679X ;

OCLC Number: 823738967

Database: WorldCat

 

Biochemistry : essential concepts

by Charles. Hardin, James. Knopp

eBook

Publication: New York : Oxford University Press, [2013]

ISBN: 9781628701760 1628701765

OCLC Number: 871686810

Database: WorldCat

 

Biochemistry laboratory manual for undergraduates : an inquiry-based approach

by Timea Fernandez, Scott Gerczei Pattison, Anna Rulka

eBook

Publication: Warsaw, [Poland] ; Berlin, [Germany] : De Gruyter Open, 2014.

ISBN: 9783110411331 3110411334 9781523100705 1523100702 3110411326 9783110411324

OCLC Number: 912309482

Database: WorldCat

 

Clinical biochemistry : an illustrated colour text

by Allan Gaw, Michael J. Murphy, Rajeev Srivastava (Clinical biochemist),, Robert Cowan, Denis St. J. O'Reilly

eBook

Publication: Edinburgh : Churchill Livingstone/Elsevier, 2013.

ISBN: 9780702054143 0702054143

OCLC Number: 851513012

Database: WorldCat

Essentials of biochemistry

by Herbert J. Fromm, Mark S. Hargrove

eBook

Publication: Berlin ; New York : Springer, ©2012.

ISBN: 9783642196249 3642196241

OCLC Number: 770032240

Database: WorldCat

 

Harper's illustrated biochemistry

by Victor W. Rodwell, David A. Bender, Kathleen M. Botham, Peter J. Kennelly, P. Anthony Weil

eBook

Publication: New York : Mcgraw-Hill Education, [2015]

OCLC Number: 904241553

Database: WorldCat

 

Principles of medical biochemistry

by Gerhard. Meisenberg, William H. Simmons (Medical scientist)

eBook

Publication: Philadelphia : Elsevier/Mosby, ©2012.

ISBN: 9780323081078 032308107X

OCLC Number: 727351782

Database: WorldCat

 

Proteomics in biomedicine and pharmacology

by Rossen Donev

eBook

Publication: Waltham, Massachusetts : Academic Press, 2014.

ISBN: 9780128005958 0128005955

ISSN: 1876-1623 ; 1876-1623

OCLC Number: 889315345

Database: WorldCat

Chemistry

Chemistry education : best practices, opportunities and trends

by Javier Garcia-Martinez, Elena Serrano-Torregrosa

eBook

Publication: Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH, [2015]

ISBN: 9783527679300 3527679308 9783527679331 3527679332 3527336052 9783527336050 9783527679324 3527679324 9783527679317 3527679316

OCLC Number: 901344667

Database: WorldCat

 

General chemistry

by Donald A. McQuarrie, Peter A. Rock, Ethan B. Gallogly

eBook

Publication: Mill Valley, CA : University Science Books, [2011]

ISBN: 9781628708684 1628708689

OCLC Number: 883128459

Database: WorldCat

 

A Life Scientist's Guide to Physical Chemistry.

by Marc R. Roussel

eBook

Publication: Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2012.

ISBN: 9781139338431 1139338439 9781139336697 113933669X 9781139340014 1139340018 1280393564 9781280393563 9781139017480 1139017489

OCLC Number: 792684498

Database: WorldCat

 

Organic chemistry

by Jonathan. Clayden, Nick. Greeves, Stuart G. Warren

eBook

Publication: Oxford ; New YorK : Oxford University Press, [2012]

ISBN: 9780191666216 0191666211

OCLC Number: 867050415

Database: WorldCat

 

Organic chemistry demystified

by D. R. Bloch

eBook

Publication: New York : McGraw-Hill, ©2012.

ISBN: 9780071767989 0071767983

OCLC Number: 820011508

Database: WorldCat

 

Schaum's outline of organic chemistry

by Herbert. Meislich, Howard Nechamkin, Jacob Sharefkin, George J. Hademenos

eBook

Publication: New York : McGraw-Hill, [2013]

ISBN: 9780071811118 0071811117 9780071811286 0071811281

OCLC Number: 865654400

Database: WorldCat

 

Schaum's Outline of College Chemistry

by Jerome Laib Rosenberg, Lawrence M. Epstein, Peter J. Krieger

eBook

Publication: New York : McGraw-Hill Education, ©2013.

ISBN: 9780071810821 007181082X

OCLC Number: 857119885

Database: WorldCat

 

 

Epidemiology

 

Epidemiological research : an introduction

by Olli S. Miettinen, I. Karp

eBook

Publication: Dordrecht ; New York : Springer, ©2012.

ISBN: 9789400745377 9400745370 9400745362 9789400745360

OCLC Number: 802826339

Database: WorldCat

 

Epidemiology

by Leon Gordis

eBook

Publication: Philadelphia, PA : Elsevier/Saunders, [2014]

ISBN: 9781455742516 1455742511

OCLC Number: 862232483

Database: WorldCat

 

Epidemiology : key to prevention

by Klaus. Krickeberg, Văn Trọng Phạm (Professor of public health), Thị Mỹ Hạhn. Phạm

eBook

Publication: New York, NY : Springer, 2012.

ISBN: 9781461412052 1461412056

ISSN: 1431-8776

OCLC Number: 761390400

Database: WorldCat

 

Evidence-based public health practice

by Arlene Fink

eBook

Publication: Thousand Oaks : Sage Publications, [2013]

ISBN: 9781452289281 145228928X 9781506335100 1506335101

OCLC Number: 919302422

Database: WorldCat

 

 

Jekel's epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health

by David L. Katz, James F. Jekel, Joann G. Elmore, Dorothea M. G. Wild, Sean C. Lucan

eBook

Publication: Philadelphia, PA : Saunders, an imprint of Elsevier Inc., [2014]

ISBN: 9781455706563 1455706566

OCLC Number: 836870507

Database: WorldCat

 

 

Modern methods for epidemiology

by Yu-Kang. Tu, Darren C. Greenwood

eBook

Publication: Dordrecht ; New York : Springer, ©2012.

ISBN: 9789400730243 9400730241

OCLC Number: 794505884

Database: WorldCat

 

Molecular tools and infectious disease epidemiology

by Betsy. Foxman

eBook

Publication: Burlington, MA : Academic Press, ©2012.

ISBN: 9780123741332 0123741335

OCLC Number: 742203615

Database: WorldCat

 

 

New frontiers of molecular epidemiology of infectious diseases

by S. Morand, François. Beaudeau, Jacques. Cabaret

eBook

Publication: Dordrecht ; New York : Springer, ©2012.

ISBN: 9789400721142 9400721145

OCLC Number: 755081421

Database: WorldCat

 

 

Practical clinical epidemiology for the veterinarian

by Aurora Villarroel

eBook

Publication: Ames, Iowa, USA : Wiley Blackwell, 2015.

ISBN: 9781118472057 1118472055 9781118472040 1118472047

OCLC Number: 898113492

Database: WorldCat

 

Understanding global health

by William H. Markle, Melanie A. Fisher, Raymond A. Smego Jr.,

eBook

Publication: New York : McGraw-Hill Education, [2014]

ISBN: 9781306078023 1306078024

OCLC Number: 869931467

Database: WorldCat

 

 

Microbiology

 

Mims' medical microbiology.

by Richard V. Goering, Cedric A. Mims

eBook

Publication: [Philadelphia?] : Elsevier/Saunders, ©2013.

ISBN: 9780702050299 0702050296

OCLC Number: 815507840

Database: WorldCat

 

Sherris medical microbiology

by Kenneth J. Ryan, C. George Ray

eBook

Publication: New York : McGraw-Hill Education/Medical, [2014]

ISBN: 9780071818261 007181826X

OCLC Number: 884336180

Database: WorldCat

 

Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's medical microbiology

by George F. Brooks, Ernest. Jawetz, Joseph L. Melnick, Edward A. Adelberg, Karen C. Carroll, Janet S. Butel, Stephen A. Morse, Timothy A. Mietzner

eBook

Publication: [New York] : McGraw-Hill, ©2013.

ISBN: 9780071790314 0071790314

OCLC Number: 840487985

Database: WorldCat

 

Review of medical microbiology and immunology

by Warren Levinson

eBook

Publication: New York : McGraw-Hill Education, [2014]

OCLC Number: 890803378

Database: WorldCat

 

Medical microbiology : a guide to microbial infections : pathogenesis, immunity, laboratory diagnosis and control

by David Greenwood

eBook

Publication: Edinburgh ; New York : Churchill Livingstone/Elsevier, 2012.

ISBN: 9780702051197 0702051195 9780702040894 0702040894

OCLC Number: 815476563

Database: WorldCat

 

Medical microbiology

by Patrick R. Murray, Ken S. Rosenthal, Michael A. Pfaller

eBook

Publication: Philadelphia, PA : Elsevier, [2016]

ISBN: 9780323359528 0323359523

OCLC Number: 933582893

Database: WorldCat

 

Kirk and Bistner's handbook of veterinary procedures and emergency treatment

by Richard B. Ford (Veterinarian), Elisa M. Mazzaferro, Robert Warren Kirk, Stephen I. Bistner

eBook

Publication: St. Louis, Mo. : Elsevier/Saunders, [2012]

ISBN: 9781437707984 143770798X 9781437707991 1437707998

OCLC Number: 757995157

Database: WorldCat

 

Viral molecular machines

by M. G. Rossmann, Venigalla B. Rao

eBook

Publication: New York : Springer, ©2012.

ISBN: 9781461409809 1461409802

ISSN: 0065-2598 ;

OCLC Number: 776630758

Database: WorldCat

 

Systems biology of bacteria

by Colin R. Harwood, A. Wipat

eBook

Publication: Amsterdam ; London : Academic Press, 2012.

ISBN: 9780080993874 0080993877 1283835703 9781283835701

ISSN: 0580-9517 ;

OCLC Number: 819062096

Database: WorldCat

 

Small animal clinical diagnosis by laboratory methods

by Michael D. Willard, Harold Tvedten

eBook

Publication: St. Louis : Elsevier, [2012]

ISBN: 9781437706581 1437706584

OCLC Number: 770652519

Database: WorldCat

 

Advances in microbial systems biology

by Robert K. Poole

eBook

Publication: London [England] : Academic Press, 2014.

ISBN: 9780128003060 0128003065 0128001437 9780128001431 9781306733144 1306733146 9780128033333 0128033339

OCLC Number: 880455849

Database: WorldCat

 

The Springer index of viruses

by Christian A. Tidona, Gholamreza. Darai

eBook

Publication: New York, NY : Springer, [2012]

ISBN: 9780387959191 038795919X

OCLC Number: 758362618

Database: WorldCat

 

Molecular biology

Encyclopedia of signaling molecules

by Sangdun. Choi

eBook

Publication: New York, NY : Springer, ©2012.

ISBN: 9781441904614 1441904611 1441904603 9781441904607

OCLC Number: 806458687

Database: WorldCat

 

Evolutionary biology : mechanisms and trends

by Evolutionary Biology Meeting Marseille, France), Pierre Pontarotti

eBook

Publication: Heidelberg ; New York : Springer, ©2012.

ISBN: 9783642304255 3642304257

OCLC Number: 810444221

Database: WorldCat

University of Pretoria Libraries

 

International review of cell and molecular biology

by Kwang W. Jeon

eBook

Publication: San Diego : Academic Press, 2014.

ISBN: 9780128004470 0128004479 9780128004463 0128004460 9780128004456 0128004452

ISSN: 1937-6448 ;

OCLC Number: 874162929

Database: WorldCat

 

Molecular biology

by David P. Clark, Nanette Jean. Pazdernik

eBook

Publication: Waltham, MA : Academic Press, ©2013.

ISBN: 9780124105171 0124105173

OCLC Number: 777375628

Database: WorldCat

 

Molecular biology techniques : a classroom laboratory manual

by Sue Carson, Heather B. Miller, D. Scott. Witherow

eBook

Publication: Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier /Academic Press, ©2012.

ISBN: 9780123855459 0123855454

OCLC Number: 763161431

Database: WorldCat

 

The physical and chemical basis of molecular biology

by Thomas E. Creighton

eBook

Publication: [U.K.?] : Helvetian Press ; [Eastbourne, U.K.] : [Distributed by Gardners Books], 2010.

ISBN: 9781613443408 1613443404 9780956478108 0956478107

OCLC Number: 761183333

Database: WorldCat

 

 

Physics

The essential physics of medical imaging

by Jerrold T. Bushberg

eBook

Publication: Philadelphia : Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, ©2012.

ISBN: 1469821559 9781469821559

OCLC Number: 873761510

Database: WorldCat

 

Schaum's outlines of physics for engineering and science

by Michael E. Browne

eBook

Publication: New York : McGraw-Hill, [2013]

ISBN: 9780071810906 0071810900 9780071810937 0071810935 9780071810852 0071810854 1299825885 9781299825888

OCLC Number: 865654528

Database: WorldCat

 

Physics, nature and society : a guide to order and complexity in our world

by Joaquín Marro

eBook

Publication: Cham : Springer, 2014.

ISBN: 9783319020242 3319020242 3319020234 9783319020235

ISSN: 1612-3018

OCLC Number: 867552770

Database: WorldCat

 

The essential physics of medical imaging

by Jerrold T. Bushberg

eBook

Publication: Philadelphia : Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, ©2012.

ISBN: 1469821559 9781469821559

OCLC Number: 873761510

Database: WorldCat

 

The physical and chemical basis of molecular biology

by Thomas E. Creighton

eBook

Publication: [U.K.?] : Helvetian Press ; [Eastbourne, U.K.] : [Distributed by Gardners Books], 2010.

ISBN: 9781613443408 1613443404 9780956478108 0956478107

OCLC Number: 761183333

Database: WorldCat

 

A Life Scientist's Guide to Physical Chemistry.

by Marc R. Roussel

eBook

Publication: Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2012.

ISBN: 9781139338431 1139338439 9781139336697 113933669X 9781139340014 1139340018 1280393564 9781280393563 9781139017480 1139017489

OCLC Number: 792684498

Database: WorldCat

 

 

Statistics

Biostatistics with R : an introduction to statistics through biological data

by Babak. Shahbaba

eBook

Publication: New York, NY : Springer, ©2012.

ISBN: 9781461413028 1461413028 1283444496 9781283444491

OCLC Number: 769443162

Database: WorldCat

 

A concise guide to statistics

by Hans-Michael. Kaltenbach

eBook

Publication: Heidelberg : Springer, 2012.

ISBN: 9783642235023 3642235026

ISSN: 2191-544X

OCLC Number: 763157853

Database: WorldCat

 

Practical statistics : a quick and easy guide to IBM SPSS Statistics, STATA, and other statistical software

by David. Kremelberg

eBook

Publication: Los Angeles [Calif.] ; London : SAGE, ©2011.

ISBN: 9781483385655 1483385655

OCLC Number: 907030665

Database: WorldCat

 

Regression methods in biostatistics : linear, logistic, survival, and repeated measures models

by Eric. Vittinghoff

eBook

Publication: New York : Springer, ©2012.

ISBN: 9781461413530 1461413532

ISSN: 1431-8776

OCLC Number: 780441679

Database: WorldCat

 

 

Statistics applied to clinical studies

by Ton J. M. Cleophas, Aeilko H. Zwinderman, Toine F. Cleophas, Eugene P. Cleophas, Henny I. Cleophas-Allers

eBook

Publication: Dordrecht ; New York : Springer, ©2012.

ISBN: 9789400728639 9400728638

OCLC Number: 777003667

Database: WorldCat

 

Schaum's outline of probability and statistics

by Murray R. Spiegel, John J. Schiller, R. Alu. Srinivasan, AccessEngineering.

eBook

Publication: New York : McGraw-Hill, ©2013.

ISBN: 9780071795579 007179557X

OCLC Number: 858452850

Database: WorldCat

 

SPSS for starters. Part 2

by Ton J. M. Cleophas, Aeilko H. Zwinderman

eBook

Publication: Dordrecht ; New York : Springer, ©2012.

ISBN: 9789400748040 9400748043 9400748035 9789400748033

ISSN: 2191-544X

OCLC Number: 800729346

Database: WorldCat

 

Assessing the quality of survey data

by Jörg Blasius, Victor. Thiessen

eBook

Publication: London ; Thousand Oaks, CA : Sage Publications, 2012.

ISBN: 9781446258729 1446258726 9781446251874 144625187X

OCLC Number: 847624810

Database: WorldCat