Skip to main content

Veterinary Science: Theses and dissertations

Theses and dissertations

The University of Pretoria’s “General Regulations and Rules” (G.57 – G.60) contains all the information about the submission of theses and dissertations for post-graduate studies.

Since 2004 it became compulsory to submit theses and dissertations electronically and UPeTD was the electronic theses and dissertations collection initially used. Prior to 2004 students were required to submit two print copies to the library of which one was preserved in the Africana collection in the Merensky library and an additional copy was kept in the open collection of the relevant faculty library.

The library has recently incorporated all the electronic theses and dissertations from UPeTD into specific collections of the institutional repository UPSpace.

The collection of theses and dissertations can be accessed from UPSpace by selecting the “UP Research Output Collections - ETDs" on the first page of UPSpace

Theses and dissertations from specific departments can also be accessed as sub-collections of Faculty’s Departmental collections (e.g. Faculty of Veterinary Science – Veterinary Tropical Diseases – Theses and Dissertations)

Bound paper copies of Veterinary Science theses and dissertations from 2004 onwards are kept in the Jotello F Soga Veterinary Science library’s reference collection for preservation purposes. Bound preservation copies of theses and dissertation before 2004 are kept in the Africana collection in the Merensky library.

If an embargo is placed on a thesis or dissertation, it will be uploaded to the electronic collection with a restriction to open the document. The print copy will be held in a closed collection at the Merensky library.

After you and your supervisor(s) are satisfied with the content of your thesis or dissertation, you still need to do a lot more effort to ensure your hard work is turned into a professional-looking document.

Make sure that you format your manuscript exactly according to the university's instructions. The University of Pretoria’s “General Regulations and Rules” (G.57 – G.60) is available on the UP webpage.

Other useful links to assist you with all the technical detail for your manuscript:

The Open Scholarship office is responsible for all copyright requests pertaining to theses and dissertations. If students want to publish from this research they can contact Christelle Steyn (christelle.steyn@up.ac.za) at the Open Scholarship Office for assistance.

There are a number of databases available that will provide you with a good overview of current and completed research. The following are available:

Loading ...