Skip to main content

Music: Journals

Music

How to find a specific article

Once you have the full reference of the article you can go to the E-journal list.  Type in the journal title and go to the desired platform.  Choose the year, then the volume and issue number.  Search for your article, click on the pdf version and download the article or send it to your e-mail address.

Tip:  You can also search for the article on Google Scholar.  Type the article title in inverted commas in the Google Scholar line.  If there is a link on the right side you will be able to access the full text.  If you can't find the article please contact your information specialist to request the article.

Accredited journal list for music

Want to publish your articles but do not know where?  Go to the list to find an accredited journal that is suitable for your publication. Please contact your information specialist if you have any queries.

Using Google Scholar

The Library has enabled its full text holdings on WorldCat and EBSCO Discovery Services (the Library's OpenURL linking service) in Google Scholar.  Search results display the following University of Pretoria Library links in results, when configured correctly:

  • FullText@UP – Links to a University of Pretoria Library’s full text sources through WorldCat.
  • EDS@UP – Links to the University of Pretoria Library’s full text sources through EBSCO Discovery Service.

NOTE:  To enable your computer to find the relevant material on Google Scholar, you will have to make the following changes to your settings for Google Scholar when you are off-campus.  On campus users are recognized by their IP and no configuration should be needed.

Follow this link https://scholar.google.co.za/scholar_settings?sciifh=1&hl=en&as_sdt=0,5#2 that will direct you to the settings screen for Google Scholar.

Google Scholar Settings 1

Google Scholar Settings 2

From your search results, choose the relevant links on the right hand side, to view the full-text journal articles.  Please note that when accessing licensed library resources, from off-campus, users will be prompted to authenticate as library users.

Google Scholar Settings 3

Journal Databases

How to search for articles

Step 1:  Go to the library website www.library.up.ac.za

Step 2:  On top of the page under the Search tab scroll down to Databases

Step 3:  Choose a relevant database for your discipline  - eg EbscoHost, Proquest, JSTOR, Taylor and Frances or even Google Scholar

Step 4:  Choose relevant keywords and filter eg. full text, date.  Then search.

Step 5:  Mark the articles which might be useful.  Go to the folder and decide which article(s) you want to use.  

Step 6:  If the article is not available in full text, ask your librarian to do an Interlibrary loan

Databases